Friday, June 21, 2024

Leaderboard: LSUS faculty and students honored, Dr. Ghali gets award, Community Renewal wins $1M

by BIZ Magazine

LSU Shreveport Faculty, students honored at Louisiana School Psychological Association’s Annual Conference

Faculty, staff, and alumni represented LSU Shreveport at the Louisiana School Psychological Association’s annual conference.  

The LSPA hosted the annual conference in Lafayette, Louisiana with the theme of “Remember Your Why.” Conference events included regional roundtables, speaker sessions, a student poster symposium, and an awards luncheon.  

LSUS students submitted eight posters in the symposium, and two posters received awards. Students Kaylee Dupree, Brianna Roblow-Law, Sarah Causey, Kristen Cochran, and Sonia Godfrey submitted a poster titled The Impact of Repeated Reading Using Science Lessons. Causey and Godfrey presented the poster and received the 1st Place award. Students Christina Poole and Bian Alwadi presented their practicum case titled Behavioral Assessment of Disruptive Behavior in an Elementary-Aged Student in Special Education, for which they received 3rd place.  

The LSPA also awarded LSUS Alumna Annie Folse Holmes with the 2022 Louisiana School Psychologist of the Year award. Holmes graduated in 2012 after earning her Specialist in School Psychology (S.S.P.) from LSU Shreveport.  

The following members of LSU Shreveport’s faculty presented during the LSPA conference: 

Dr. Steven Powell: Understanding the Effectiveness and Practical Utility of Descriptive Functional Behavior Assessments Conducted in School Settings and Considerations for Effectiveness and Efficiency in Basic Math Facts Fluency Interventions 

Dr. Seth Whiting: Reinforcement vs. Bribery: Theoretical Background, Empirical Analysis, and Implications for Practice 

Dr. Kevin Jones facilitated the University Trainers Forum alongside other school psychology program directors. 

Associate Dean for the College of Education and Human Development Dr. Katherine Wickstrom represented LSUS as an expert panelist together with university trainers and district representatives. The roundtable discussion focused on recruitment and retention of school psychologists in Louisiana. 

G.E. Ghali receives AOMSI Lifetime Achievement Award

Renowned oral and maxillofacial surgeon G.E. Ghali, DDS, MD, FACS, FRCS(Ed) is the 2022 recipient of the Association of Oral & Maxillofacial Surgeons of India’s Lifetime Achievement Award (AOMSI) The award was presented Nov. 17 at the AOMSI 46 th annual national conference in Indore, Madhya Pradesh, India, at which Dr. Ghali also was keynote speaker.

The AOMSI Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes distinguished physicians who have provided longterm leadership and made significant contributions to the field of oral and maxillofacial surgery in India. For more than 20 years, Dr. Ghali has travelled to India on a yearly basis to operate on children with cleft lips and palates, and adults with head and neck cancer.

“It is an honor to have been selected to receive this award,” Dr. Ghali said. “I am thankful for the opportunity and privilege to help those in need. I believe that to whom much is given much is required. To be recognized for my work by such a distinguished group of my peers is a high honor indeed.”

In his message to those attending the conference, Dr. Ghali urged physicians to maintain relevance in their surgical practice and provide mentoring opportunities for younger surgeons throughout the world.

Dr. Ghali joined the Willis-Knighton Physician Network in December 2021. He cares for patients and performs oral and maxillofacial surgical procedures at Willis-Knighton’s South, North, Pierremont and Bossier hospitals.

Origin Bank’s Ryan Kilpatrick receives 2022 Louisiana Young Banker Impact Award

The Louisiana Bankers Association (LBA) has announced Ryan Kilpatrick of Origin Bank as a recipient of the 2022 Louisiana Young Banker Impact Award.

Given by the Louisiana Bankers Education Council and the Louisiana Bankers Association, this award recognizes young bankers in Louisiana who are making significant contributions to their bank and the banking industry. Kilpatrick, who serves as the bank’s Chief Brand and Communications Officer, will be recognized with his fellow winners at an awards luncheon on December 7, 2022, in Baton Rouge.

“I’m thrilled that Ryan is being recognized as a 2022 Louisiana Young Banker Impact Award winner,” said Origin Bank President and CEO Lance Hall. ”Origin’s core purpose is ‘to enrich the lives of people in our community.’ Ryan lives out this purpose daily. He inspires his fellow Origin teammates to make a difference in the lives of others and is respected for his innovative leadership throughout the banking industry. I’m so proud of Ryan and am grateful to the Louisiana Bankers Association for bestowing this well-deserved honor upon him.”

In his role as Executive Vice President, Chief Brand and Communications Officer at Origin Bank, Kilpatrick oversees the bank’s brand strategy, corporate communications, corporate culture and governmental affairs.  Since joining Origin in 2006, he has been responsible for business development, building a strong corporate culture devoted to employee engagement and community involvement, strengthening relationships with customers and shareholders, and managing communications and governmental affairs. 

Community Renewal awarded $1 million Opus Prize

ommunity Renewal International, in honor of founder Mack McCarter, has been awarded a $1 million prize from the Opus Prize Foundation.

Community Renewal was one of three global finalists for the esteemed Opus Prize. Each year a Laureate is chosen from the three finalists and the 2022 winner was announced Thursday afternoon at the convocation at Catholic University in Washington, D.C.

The Opus Prize is given not only to expand the humanitarian efforts of the recipient, but to inspire others to pursue lives of service. The $1 million award and two $100,000 prizes make up one of the world’s largest faith-based awards for social entrepreneurship.

Opus Prize laureates combine the spirit of innovation with amazing faith to inspire long-term, local solutions to address poverty and injustice. Opus Prize laureates prove change is possible, empowering and inspiring us all.

Update Required Flash plugin