Wednesday, June 19, 2024

Leaderboard: Kean Miller Marks 10 Years of Service in Shreveport

by BIZ Magazine

Kean Miller LLP, a prominent law firm serving North Louisiana, is commemorating a significant milestone as it celebrates a decade of dedicated service to the Shreveport community. Since establishing roots in the region in 2014, the firm has been an integral part of the local business landscape, offering legal expertise and support to clients and friends alike.

To mark this momentous occasion, Kean Miller invites the community to join them for an evening of cocktails and appetizers on Thursday, May 9, from 5:30 to 7:30 PM. The celebration will take place at Superior’s Steakhouse, located at 855 Pierremont Road #120, Shreveport, LA 71106.

As Kean Miller reflects on the past decade, they express gratitude to their clients, colleagues, and the entire Shreveport-Bossier community for their unwavering support. The event promises to be a testament to the firm’s commitment to making Shreveport-Bossier a better place to live and work.


Seven distinguished faculty members from LSU Health Shreveport have been honored with Healthcare Research All-Star Awards by Avant-Garde Health, a leading organization in providing health systems and physicians with specialized data-driven software insights. These awards recognize exceptional surgeons whose contributions to healthcare research significantly elevate the standard of patient care. The accolades are based on hospital-based procedures, with LSU Health Shreveport physicians conducting their procedures at Ochsner LSU Health hospitals in Shreveport or Monroe.

The prestigious Healthcare Research All-Star Awards are bestowed upon researchers ranking in the top 1-5% based on the quantity and quality of their published research across various medical specialties, including cardiology, neurosurgery, urology, and general surgery, among others.

The LSU Health Shreveport faculty members honored with the Healthcare Research All-Star Awards are:

Cherie-Ann Nathan, MD, FACS, Chair and Professor of Otolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery: Recognized in the Top 1% for Ear, Nose, and Throat (ENT) Surgery Research.

Brian Willis, MD, FACS, FAANS, Gratis Professor of Neurosurgery: Acknowledged in the Top 1% for Spine Surgery Research.

Ameya Asarkar, MD, Assistant Professor of Otolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery, Director of Robotic Head and Neck Surgery: Ranked in the Top 2-3% for Ear, Nose, and Throat (ENT) Surgery Research.

Alexander Gomelsky, MD, Chair and Professor of Urology: Acknowledged in the Top 2-3% for Urology Research.

Tarek Helmy, MD, Division Chief and Professor of Cardiology: Recognized in the Top 4-5% for Cardiothoracic Surgery Research.

Nazih Khater, MD, Associate Professor of Urology: Ranked in the Top 4-5% for Urology Research.

John Pang, MD, Assistant Professor of Otolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery: Acknowledged in the Top 4-5% for Ear, Nose, and Throat (ENT) Surgery Research.

The study conducted by Avant-Garde Health analyzed research from over 4,000 hospitals and 90,000 surgeons nationwide, underscoring the significance of this recognition within the medical community. Each awardee has demonstrated exemplary commitment and expertise in their respective fields, contributing to the advancement of medical knowledge and the improvement of patient outcomes.


The Public Relations Association of Louisiana’s (PRAL) Northwest Chapter recently hosted its 2nd Annual Beacon Awards ceremony and luncheon, recognizing three outstanding public relations and communications professionals for their exceptional work on campaigns and special events.

The awards ceremony, held on Thursday, April 18, 2024, celebrated the achievements of professionals who are active members of PRAL Northwest and whose entry submissions reflected work conducted in the calendar year of 2023. Entries were evaluated by esteemed public relations professionals from the Southeast region of the United States, with judging criteria based on Research, Planning, Implementation, and Evaluation.

Introduced to the local public relations award landscape in 2022, the Beacon Awards serve as a precursor to the statewide “Torché Awards,” presented annually at the PRAL State Conference in June.

This year’s Beacon Award winners include:

Emerie Eck Holtzclaw, Owner, Lagniappe P.R.I.M.E., LLC

Award: Merit

Category: Tier Two: Short Term Strategic Programs: Special Events

Project: Beads & Brushes benefiting Highland Jazz & Blues Festival

Description: The event, held in 2023, saw Lagniappe P.R.I.M.E., LLC collaborating with the Highland Jazz and Blues Festival board of directors to organize an art-focused fundraiser post-Mardi Gras season. Attendees participated in creating artwork from upcycled beads, fostering community engagement and supporting the festival’s fundraising efforts.

Michelle Marcotte, Communications Consult, Sr., Southwestern Electric Power Company (SWEPCO)

Award: Merit

Category: Tier One: Long Term Strategic Programs: Community Relations and Public Service

Project: Shaping Tomorrow’s Energy: Understanding Smart Meters

Description: SWEPCO’s strategic customer outreach campaign, initiated in 2023, aimed to inform customers about the deployment of smart meters across its Louisiana footprint. The campaign addressed customer concerns regarding safety, costs, and data confidentiality, providing valuable insights and preparing customers for the transition.

Paige Melton, Associate Director of Communications, United Way of Northwest Louisiana

Award: Excellence

Category: Tier Two: Short Term Strategic Programs: Community Relations & Public Service

Project: United Way Book Club

Description: United Way of Northwest Louisiana’s end-of-year Giving Tuesday campaign in 2023 successfully enrolled 2,000 children in the Dolly Parton Imagination Library program. The campaign, which raised over $70,000, highlighted the importance of early childhood literacy and community engagement.

Winners from the Beacon Awards will advance to compete in the statewide PRAL Torché Awards.

The PRAL Northwest Chapter applauds its members’ dedication to the industry and congratulates them on their well-deserved recognition.


The Aspen Institute College Excellence Program (Aspen) announced this week that Dr. Holly French Hart of Bossier Parish Community College is one of 40 leaders selected for the 2024-25 Aspen Rising Presidents Fellowship.

Applying lessons from over a dozen years researching exceptional community colleges, the Aspen fellowship aims to select and prepare the next generation of presidents who can lead institutions to higher and more equitable levels of student success. Dr. Hart currently serves as Provost/Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Institutional Effectiveness.

Many sitting community college presidents plan to retire in the next decade, creating an opportunity for college trustees and system heads to select leaders who have the skills and knowledge to achieve better outcomes for students. Aspen Presidential Fellows represent the next generation of college leadership: this incoming class of Aspen Rising Presidents Fellows is 58 percent women, and 55 percent are people of color. The institutions they represent are also diverse, located in 20 states, from small rural colleges to large urban campuses.

Submit Your Leaderboard News

Update Required Flash plugin