Wednesday, May 29, 2024

Greater Shreveport Chamber to Honor Outstanding Businesses and Professionals at 2024 Minority Business Opportunity Awards

by BIZ Magazine

The Business Development Connection (BDC) of the Greater Shreveport Chamber will recognize exceptional business owners and professionals contributing to our community’s growth at the upcoming Minority Business Opportunity Awards (MBOA) Dinner, presented by Willis Knighton Health. Scheduled for June 13, 2024, the event will take place at Sam’s Town Hotel & Casino.

Each year, the BDC highlights a diverse array of honorees who serve as catalysts for positive change in the business landscape. These individuals foster leadership, promote growth, and engage actively in community initiatives. They are committed to fostering connections, nurturing personal and professional development, driving positive change, and fostering innovation within their businesses and among their employees. Winners in each category will be revealed during the event on June 13th. Sponsorships and dinner registrations are now available at

Among this year’s honorees, Maxine Sarpy will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award. According to Verni Howard, BDC President-Elect, “Maxine Sarpy’s remarkable contributions exemplify a lifetime dedicated to achievement. From advocating for civil rights alongside her late husband, Dr. Joseph Sarpy, to creating pathways for people of color to pursue a better future, Maxine Sarpy’s impact resonates throughout our community, and we are honored to recognize her with the MBOA Lifetime Achievement Award. Congratulations, Maxine Sarpy!”

Additionally, Yokem Toyota will receive the Business of the Year Award. Adam H. West, M.B.A., BDC President, commended Yokem Toyota’s enduring legacy, stating, “Yokem Toyota has been an integral part of Shreveport’s automotive industry for over 50 years. Across three generations of the Yokem family, their dealership has weathered numerous economic cycles, providing employment opportunities and contributing to our local economy’s vitality. Their commitment to community engagement and philanthropy ensures their continued success for generations to come. Congratulations to Yokem Toyota!”

The following individuals will also be honored in various categories:

Emerging Business of the Year Honorees

  • Circle M Productions – Madison Keen
  • High Gravity Glassworks – Michelle Pennington
  • Kids College STEAM Early Learning Center – Dr. Katraya Williams & Benji Williams
  • TITLE Boxing Club Shreveport – Brent Smith

Small Business Owner of the Year Honorees

  • Wesley Eckles – Wesley Eckles State Farm
  • Chauncy Horton – SNA Contracting, LLC

Top Business Professional of the Year Honorees

  • Lyndsi Alvarez
  • Golden A. Ellis
  • Kamala Glenn-Taylor, PhD, LMFT
  • Marie Nicole Johnson-Watts
  • Erin Smith
  • Delanee Wade

Non-Profit Professional of the Year Honorees

  • Emily Hamann
  • Jacob McCarty
  • Andrea McKnight
  • Dayana Reanez Nye
  • Adia Garrick Wells
  • Alison Young

You may also like

Update Required Flash plugin