Sunday, April 14, 2024

LSU Health Shreveport Celebrates White Coat Ceremony for Second-Year Medical Students

by David Specht

In a momentous event symbolizing their transition into the medical profession, 149 second-year students from LSU Health Shreveport School of Medicine were adorned with their white coats during the traditional White Coat Ceremony on Saturday, March 2. Held at the historic Strand Theatre, which is commemorating its 100th anniversary, the ceremony marked a significant milestone in the academic journey of these budding physicians.

The White Coat Ceremony, a revered tradition in medical education, is a symbolic rite of passage where students are presented with short white coats, signifying their dedication to the noble profession of medicine. Draped over the shoulders of each student, the coats serve as tangible emblems of their commitment to compassionate patient care and ethical medical practice.

Addressing the gathering as the keynote speaker was Dr. Michael Sewell, Interim Chair of Medicine at LSU Health Shreveport, who imparted words of wisdom and inspiration to the aspiring medical professionals. The ceremony was graced by the presence of esteemed academic leaders, faculty members, families, and peers who warmly welcomed the students into the medical community.

“The annual White Coat Ceremony is a significant milestone for our medical students and their families,” remarked Dr. David Lewis, Dean of the School of Medicine at LSU Health Shreveport. “We extend our heartfelt congratulations to these students and eagerly anticipate their future accomplishments in the field of medicine.”

In addition to the presentation of white coats, the ceremony also witnessed the induction of 31 new members into the prestigious Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS). Established by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation in 2002, GHHS recognizes individuals who exemplify excellence, compassion, and empathy in patient-centered care.

The 2024 inductees into the Gold Humanism Honor Society include faculty members, residents, and medical students who have demonstrated exceptional dedication to patient welfare and medical professionalism.

Faculty Inductees:

  • Chaitanya Ahuja, MD
  • Bruno Alvarez, MD
  • Dani Zoorob, MD

Resident Inductees:

  • Mohammad Khan, MD
  • Mackenzie Latour, MD
  • Cameron Meyer, DO
  • Sara Preston, MD
  • Saman Siddiqui, MD
  • Rahul Vyas, MD

Student Inductees:

  • Ivan Alvarez
  • Christian Bonner
  • Margaret Boston
  • Hannah Cowart
  • Charles Daniel
  • Annaliesa Fanguy
  • Mason Favre
  • Michael Hebert
  • Christopher Honore
  • Amanda Husein
  • Maria Kerrigan
  • Kirsten Maddox
  • Sarah Martin
  • Chizoba Mosieri
  • Jillian Sandoz
  • Ashlyn Scheinost
  • Gaelen Shimkus
  • Tyler Tran
  • LeighAnn Vincik
  • Francesca Weis
  • Diensn Xing
  • Noah Young

The induction into the Gold Humanism Honor Society is a testament to the exemplary character and dedication to compassionate care demonstrated by these individuals, reflecting the core values of LSU Health Shreveport’s commitment to excellence in medical education and patient service.

For more information about LSU Health Shreveport and its academic programs, visit

You may also like

Update Required Flash plugin