Monday, April 22, 2024

Greater Shreveport Chamber Celebrates Achievements and Leadership Transition at 114th Annual Banquet

by BIZ Magazine

The Greater Shreveport Chamber of Commerce hosted its 114th Annual Banquet on Friday night, drawing over 250 attendees to celebrate achievements, honor distinguished individuals, and unveil plans for the upcoming year. The event featured the presentation of the Business Leader of the Year Award to B. Wayne Brown of Brown Builders and marked the induction of Michael Corbin as the new Chairman of the Board.

B. Wayne Brown, recognized for his outstanding contributions, received the prestigious Business Leader of the Year Award. His remarkable achievements in the business community have left an indelible mark, and the Chamber applauds his dedication and success.

In a heartfelt Wayne Brown Tribute Video, attendees had the opportunity to witness and celebrate Brown’s impactful journey in the business world. The video can be viewed here.

The banquet also showcased a recap of the Chamber’s significant milestones and accomplishments throughout 2023, providing a comprehensive overview in a Recap Video, which can be accessed here.

Amidst the festivities, the Greater Shreveport Chamber announced its 2024 Board of Directors, with Michael Corbin of Southwestern Electric Power Co. (SWEPCO) taking the helm as the Chairman of the Board. Corbin succeeds 2023 Chairman Roy Prestwood of Heard, McElroy & Vestal.

“We appreciate each of these business leaders who have agreed to help steer the Chamber over the next year,” stated Dr. Timothy Magner, Chamber President. “Their dedication and willingness to serve both our organization and our community is greatly appreciated.”

Michael Corbin, expressing his enthusiasm for the upcoming year, stated, “I’m pleased to have such a talented group of professionals and committed members of our community to work alongside me as we tackle the challenges and celebrate the achievements of our region.”

The 2024 Board of Directors includes:

  • Chairman of the Board – Michael Corbin – SWEPCO
  • Chairman-Elect – Tom Simms – Carr, Riggs & Ingram, LLC
  • Immediate Past-Chairman – Roy Prestwood – Heard, McElroy & Vestal
  • Treasurer – Terry E. Moore
  • VC Education – Charles Johnson – Cejay Enterprises of Louisiana
  • VC Economic Development – Jason Smith – Citizens National Bank
  • VC Marketing/Investor Relations – Michelle Cavanaugh – Chesapeake Energy, Corp.
  • VC Membership – Scott Ward – Southern Components, Inc.
  • VC Public Policy – William C. Bradford, Jr. – Blanchard, Walker, O’Quin & Roberts, APLC

Additional board members for 2024 include representatives from diverse sectors such as healthcare, finance, education, and technology, contributing to the Chamber’s comprehensive vision for the region’s growth.

As the Greater Shreveport Chamber looks ahead to a new year under Michael Corbin’s leadership, the organization remains committed to fostering economic development, supporting local businesses, and creating a thriving community for all.

You may also like

Update Required Flash plugin