Saturday, July 20, 2024

Louisiana Legislature Committee Leadership Announced for Special Session

by BIZ Magazine

In anticipation of the upcoming special legislative session, Louisiana’s state legislative leaders have revealed the committee chairs, reflecting a predominantly Republican dominance as the GOP seeks to implement conservative policies across the government. The session, set to commence on Monday, will focus on key priorities and measures shaped by the committee leadership.

Senate President Cameron Henry and House Speaker Phillip DeVillier, both Republicans, upheld their commitment to bipartisanship by appointing five Democrats as committee chairs. DeVillier stated, ‘‘We have selected a group of chairs who can help advance the priorities of the people of Louisiana and unify our body.’’

While Democrats will head five committees, Republicans maintain a robust majority in each. The allocation underscores the significant influence conservatives will wield in shaping legislative considerations throughout the year, with Republicans chairing 28 House and Senate committees.

Senate Committee Chairs:

1. Agriculture, Forestry, Aquaculture & Rural Development: Sen. Stewart Cathey, R-Monroe
2. Commerce, Consumer Protection & International Affairs: Sen. Beth Mizell, R-Franklinton
3. Education: Sen. Rick Edmonds, R-Baton Rouge
4. Environmental Quality: Sen. Eddie Lambert, R-Gonzales
5. Health and Welfare: Sen. Patrick McMath, R-Covington
6. Insurance: Sen. Kirk Talbot, R-River Ridge
7. Judiciary A: Sen. Greg Miller, R-Norco
8. Judiciary B: Sen. Mike Reese, R-DeRidder
9. Judiciary C: Sen. Jay Morris, R-West Monroe
10. Labor & Industrial Relations: Sen. Alan Seabaugh, R-Shreveport
11. Local & Municipal Affairs: Sen. Joseph Bouie, D-New Orleans
12. Natural Resources: Sen. Bob Hensgens, R-Abbeville
13. Retirement: Sen. Edward Price, D-Gonzales
14. Transportation, Highway and Public Works: Sen. Patrick Connick, R-Marrero.

House Committee Chairs:

1. Agriculture, Forestry, Aquaculture & Rural Development: Rep. Troy Romero, R-Jennings
2. Civil Law and Procedure: Rep. Nicky Muscarello, R-Hammond
3. Insurance: Rep. Gabe Firment, R-Pollack
4. Municipal: Rep. Foy Gadberry, R-West Monroe
5. Transportation: Rep. Ryan Bourriaque, R-Abbeville.
6. Budget-Writing: Rep. Jack McFarland, R, Winnfield
7. Tax: Rep. Julie Emerson, R-Carencro
8. House and Governmental Affairs: Rep. Beau Beaullieu, R-New Iberia
9. Judiciary Committee: Rep. Robby Carter, D-Greensburg
10. Health & Welfare Committee: Rep. Dustin Miller, D-Opelousas
11. Administration of Criminal Justice Committee: Rep. Debbie Villio, R-Kenner
12. Commerce Committee: Rep. Daryl Deshotel, R-Hessmer
13. Natural Resources Committee: Rep. Brett Geymann, R-Moss Bluff
14. Labor and Industrial Committee: Rep. Raymond Crews, R-Bossier City
15. Retirement Committee: Rep. Tony Bacala, R-Prairieville
16. Education Committee: Rep. Laurie Schlegel, R-Metairie.

You may also like

Update Required Flash plugin