Home Leaderboard NSU honors international student graduates

NSU honors international student graduates


NATCHITOCHES – Northwestern State University’s International Student Resource Center hosted a recognition program for graduating international students May 10.  The graduates were recognized for their academic achievements and participated in a panel discussion about their experiences at NSU, followed by a sash ceremony.

Students shared many common challenges attending college in a foreign country, struggling with English, learning to be independent and missing their families, but all said they made many friends with American and other international students, learning and growing together.  Several plan to attend graduate school.

NSU has 92 international students from 29 different countries enrolled and 16 will graduate this semester, earning both undergraduate and graduate degrees. 


NSU President Dr. Marcus Jones, a long-time advocate and recruiter of international students at NSU, said the international students bring much to the campus, to Creative and Performing Arts and to athletics.

“We have been enriched by your presence on this campus,” he said.

“Congratulations on your perseverance in getting here,” said NSU Provost Dr. Greg Handel.  “It takes a lot to go to college in another country and you’ve all made a significant impact on your fellow students.”

The panel and ceremony were organized by Dr. Telba Espinoza-Contreras, director of NSU’s International Student Resource Center that was created in 2016 to help international students navigate college at NSU and also assist NSU students who wished to travel abroad.

NSU’s International graduates:

Sixteen international students who will graduate from NSU this week were recognized gy the university’s International Student Resource Center. They are, from left, Devin Reyes, Belize; Gilda Malloy, Belize; Elias Castro Caballero, Colombia; Maria Paula Mancera Romero, Colombia; Jose Jose Arrieta Cuesta, Colombia; Crescencio Mendez Zaragoza, Mexico;  Aura Hernandez Canedo, Mexico; Jorge Ojeda Munoz, Colombia; Ruth Garcia Rodriguez, Honduras; Judit Castillo Gargallo, Spain; Natalia Zapata Yonoff, Colombia; Dania Briceno Vasquez, Honduras, and Isabella Lambis Cano, Colombia.

Previous articleOlympic Bronze Medalist Sylvia Hoffman to speak at LSUS Commencement Ceremonies Friday
Next articleLouisiana House revives ‘Don’t Say Gay’ bill with rare procedural move