Sunday, June 23, 2024

LA Tech College of Engineering and Science announces 2022 Distinguished Alumni

by BIZ Magazine

The Louisiana Tech University College of Engineering and Science (COES) is pleased to announce its 2022 Distinguished Alumni.

The College will honor Dr. Harry Hogan (Biomedical Engineering), Henry “Hank” Lee Sinclair (Chemical Engineering), Dr. Tiffany Jarrell Prentice (Chemistry), Dan Brown (Civil Engineering), Thomas Bont (Computer Science), Mr. Reginald “Reggie” Jeter (Construction Engineering Technology), Nicholas “Nick” Brown (Electrical Engineering), Sam Maggio, III (Electrical Engineering Technology), Justin Routon (Industrial Engineering), Dr. Nathan Ponder (Mathematics and Statistics), Arne E. Aamodt (Mechanical Engineering), and Dr. Ronald Perritt (Physics).

Hogan received a BS in Biomedical Engineering and a BS in Mechanical Engineering in 1979, an MS in Biomedical Engineering from Louisiana Tech in 1981, and a PhD in Mechanical Engineering from Texas A&M University. For more than 20 years, Hogan has studied the effects of microgravity on the musculoskeletal system through projects supported by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA).

Sinclair earned a BS in Chemical Engineering from Louisiana Tech in 1968. Sinclair is the founder and chairman of The Sinclair Group, Ltd., a management consulting company. He spent more than 30 years at The Dow Chemical Company, many of which were in leadership positions, before founding the Sinclair Group, a management consulting company committed to enabling clients to improve performance.

Prentice received a BS in Chemistry at Louisiana Tech in 2010 before earning a PhD in Analytical Chemistry from Purdue University. Prentice focused on mass spectrometry during her studies at Pardue and has spent her career creating solutions to problems in veterinary medicine. She currently leads analytical chemistry operations at Anivive Lifesciences, where she helped launch Laverdia, a first-in-class treatment for lymphoma in dogs.

Brown earned a BS in Civil Engineering in 1964 from Louisiana Tech before earning an MS in the program a year later. A certified professional engineer and professional land surveyor, Brown served as a board member and president of the Alexandria chapter of the Louisiana Engineering Society and the Louisiana Tech COES Foundation Board. He has worked in construction and design positions with several companies, including Mobil Oil and Meyer, Meyer, LaCroix & Hixson, LLC.

Bont earned a BS in Computer Science at Louisiana Tech in 1992. Bont spent six years as a U.S. Navy electrician before pursuing his education at Louisiana Tech. He and his wife built Bont Software & Control Systems, Inc., a software development company that helps other companies visualize their industrial processes. He uses his position as a business owner to create mentoring opportunities for young Tech graduates.

Jeter earned a BS in Construction Engineering Technology (CET) from Louisiana Tech in 1981, then earned a BS in Civil Engineering and an MS in Civil Engineering from the University three years later. Jeter, a licensed professional civil engineer in Louisiana and Mississippi, spent more than 28 years as an estimator and project manager before returning to Tech as the program chair and professional-in-residence for the CET program.

Brown earned a BS in Electrical Engineering from Louisiana Tech in 1982 and a BS in Physics and Math from Ouachita Baptist University. Brown is the former President and Chief Executive Officer of Southwest Power Pool in Little Rock, Arkansas, and is a member of several boards and active in numerous civic groups, including the Little Rock Regional Chamber of Commerce.

Maggio earned a BS in Electrical Engineering Technology from Louisiana Tech in 1978. Maggio is a project manager at Louisiana Radio Communications, Inc., also known as LRC Wireless. He is a registered communication distribution designer and a project management professional and has been a member of the Building Industry Consulting Services International since 2003.

Routon earned a BS in Industrial Engineering from the University in 2003 before earning an MS in Logistics from the University of Texas at Arlington and graduating from Lockheed Martin’s Operations Leadership Development Program. Routon is the Director of Global Supply Chain Operations at Lockheed Martin Missiles and Fire Control Global Supply Chain Operations. He has worked with the company for more than 18 years.

Ponder earned a BS in Mathematics and Statistics from the University in 1984, followed by an MS in Theological Studies at the Harvard Divinity School and a PhD in Mathematics at Tulane University. Ponder has been in academia for more than 20 years and is currently the Dean of the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics at LSU-Alexandria.

Aamodt earned a BS in Mechanical Engineering from Louisiana Tech in 1987. Aamodt spent his career with NASA. There, he was a certified flight controller and astronaut instructor. Aamodt also worked in the Space Vehicle Mockup Facility, the NASA Aircraft Operations, and the Safety and Mission Assurance organization, where he worked on the Orion spacecraft that will carry astronauts back to the moon.

Perritt earned a BS in Physics from Louisiana Tech in 1965, an MS and a PhD in Electrical Engineering from Louisiana State University, where he served as an assistant professor of electrical engineering from 1972-79 and 1994-99, and an MS in Theological Studies from Emory University. Perritt also taught at Georgia Tech and was an engineer and Director of Training at the Dow Chemical Company.

“These alumni represent the best of Louisiana Tech and the College of Engineering and Science, and I’m pleased to celebrate their distinguished careers and accomplishments,” COES Dean Dr. Hisham Hegab said.

Family, friends, faculty, and staff will join the distinguished alumni in a closed ceremony to celebrate their achievements on May 6.

You may also like

Update Required Flash plugin