Home Leaderboard SporTran CEO named chair of South West Transit Association

SporTran CEO named chair of South West Transit Association


CEO Dinero’ Washington has been named Chair of the Board of Directors for the South West Transit Association.

SWTA’s Board of Directors includes representatives from all 8 states of the SWTA region; board members provide products and services to the transit industry and guidance for the organization and staff. SporTran was selected as Region 6 “Transit System of the Year” in 2020 at the annual SWTA conference.

“I am honored to be named Chair of this important organization, which works hard to forward the interests of public transit systems in Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Kansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas,” Washington said. “SWTA is instrumental in shining a spotlight on the role transit plays in the communities it serves. Their tireless advocacy for member needs and initiatives has increased funding, grant opportunities, and support for transit from regional and federal lawmakers alike. The new Board is dedicated to these goals as well.”


A Shreveport native, Washington also serves as President of the Louisiana Public Transit Association. During his 8-year tenure with SporTran, the organization has built a new Intermodal terminal, upgraded internal and user technology, introduced SporTran OnDemand service, eliminated the cost of ridership via their “Zero Fare” program, and much more.

Previous articleLSU Shreveport expands Unity Game Development course and certification program to online
Next articleAppeals court sides with AG Landry in ‘Zuckerbucks’ election lawsuit