The only vote that counts: Electoral College meets Monday

Secretary of State Kyle Ardoin will host the meeting of Louisiana’s Electoral College on Monday, Dec. 14 at 11:30 a.m. in the Senate Chamber of the State Capitol. Secretary Ardoin will administer the oaths of office to the eight electors of the Republican Party prior to their official votes for president and vice president of the United States.

Individuals wanting to watch a live stream of the proceedings can do so by visiting and clicking on the live streaming link.

Louisiana’s electors include: Vinson Serio, at large; Woody Jenkins, at large; Erik Skrmetta, 1st Congressional District; Bob Monti, 2nd Congressional District; Ross Little, 3rd Congressional District; Rodney Michael Collier, 4th Congressional District; Kay Kellogg Katz, 5th Congressional District; and Beth A. Billings, 6th Congressional District. In the event that one of these electors is not present, an alternative elector will assume his/her duties by law.

The Electoral College, administered by the National Archives and Records Administration, is a process that began as part of the original design of the United States Constitution. The Founding Fathers established the Electoral College as a compromise between election of the president by Congress and election by a popular voter. The people of the United States vote for the electors who then vote for president.

For more information on the Electoral College, visit

Previous articleEdwards: COVID-19 vaccinations could begin in Louisiana as early as this weekend
Next articleUS B-52H bombers fly to Middle East in mission to deter Iran