Dr. Steven Bailey named a Mastership recipient

Steven Roderick Bailey MD, MSCAI, MACP, FACC, FAHA, Chairman of Internal Medicine at LSU Health Shreveport, has been named by the American College of Physicians (ACP) Awards Committee as a 2021 Mastership recipient.  Dr. Bailey is only the fourth member of the LSU Health Shreveport faculty and one of only fifteen Louisiana physicians to have received this prestigious designation. He was informed of the award by Dr. Angela C. Johnson Governor of the Louisiana Chapter of the American College of Physicians.  The award will be formally presented in 2021 at the ACP Annual Meeting in Orlando, Florida.

ACP bylaws state that Masters shall be Fellows who have been selected because of “integrity, positions of honor, impact in practice or in medical research, or other attainments in science or in the art of medicine. Masters must be highly accomplished persons demonstrating impact in practice, leadership, or in medical research. Evidence of their achievements can come from many types of endeavors such as renown within their field and/or ACP chapter, research, education, health care initiatives, volunteerism, administrative positions, care of patients, and service to their community. The first Mastership in the College was presented in 1923 to Dr. James M. Anders, for his extraordinary service to the College and for being one of the most outstanding internists and medical teachers of that time. Masters may designate their achievement by use of MACAP as part of their title to publicly acknowledge this achievement.

Dr. Bailey was recruited to LSU Health Shreveport in 2018 from the University of Texas Health Science Center in San Antonio where he was a tenured professor of Medicine and Radiology and Chief of the Janey and Dolph Briscoe Jr. Division of Cardiology.  He specializes in Interventional Cardiology and Cardiovascular Disease and currently holds the Malcolm Feist Chair in Interventional Cardiology. 

Dr. Bailey is a Master Fellow of the Society of Cardiovascular Angiography (SCAI), a Fellow of the American College of Cardiology and a Fellow of the American College of Physicians, as well as the Association of University Cardiologists, the Association of Cardiology Professors and the International Andreas Greuntzing Society. He has been extremely active with the American Heart Association as an advocate, educator and fundraiser.  Dr. Bailey is a prolific researcher and has published multiple scientific and peer reviewed articles.  He is currently the Editor-in-Chief for the journal Catheterization and Cardiovascular Interventions, which is the official publication of SCAI.

“I congratulate Dr. Bailey on this meaningful recognition of his contributions to medicine at the national, regional and local level.  We are fortunate to have recruited Dr. Bailey to LSU Health Shreveport as he is doing an excellent job in leading the largest clinical department in our health sciences center” stated LSU Health Shreveport Chancellor, G. E. Ghali, DDS, MD.

Previous articleShreveport architect elected as AIA LA President-Elect
Next articleDaryl Marx, MD, Establishes WK Minimally Invasive Surgery Center