Wednesday, June 19, 2024

Volunteers of America North Louisiana announces new board members

by BIZ Magazine

Volunteers of America North Louisiana is pleased to announce eight new community leaders who will serve a three-year term on the 2020-21 Board of Directors. New members include Chase Burns, president of Xpress Car Wash; Rev. Chris Currie, pastor of First Presbyterian Church of Shreveport; John Frierson, partner in Chicot Bend Plantation; Ben Israel; president of Cypress Operating, Inc.; Curtis Joseph, partner in the Shreveport law firm, Winchell & Joseph, L.L.C; Lila Knicely, attorney at United Title of Louisiana; Lindsey Lewis, owner of The Festive Favor; and Carolyn Murphy Thompson, general counsel and human resources officer for First State Bank and Trust Co. in Carthage, Texas.

Along with announcing the newly appointed board members, the organization is also pleased to announce the new Board of Directors chair, Robert Dean, managing partner at Heard, McElroy & Vestal, L.L.C. “It is my sincere pleasure as chair of the Board of Directors of Volunteers of America North Louisiana to welcome our new Board members,” said Dean. “We are not merely an advisory board, but a governing board with responsibility for setting strategic direction, engaging people so that Volunteers of America obtains needed resources, and providing oversight of the organization.”

Dean replaces former Board chair, Jerry Edwards, who recently completed a six-year term on the Volunteers of America North Louisiana’s board. Below is a complete list of the 2020-21 Board of Directors.

  • Charles Meehan, President
  • Robert Dean, Chair
  • Keith Evans, Vice Chair
  • Dr. Sheyenne Carper, Secretary
  • John Ponthie, Treasurer
  • William C. Bradford, Jr.
  • Chase Burns
  • Tori Burns
  • S. Patrick Crawford
  • Rev. Chris Currie
  • Cortez Davis
  • Melissa Flores
  • John Frierson
  • Elizabeth Holtsclaw
  • Whitney Howell
  • Adam Hubble
  • Ben Israel
  • Curtis Joseph
  • Lila Knicely
  • Virginia Lamb
  • Lindsey Lewis
  • Jon Katz
  • Peggy Murphy
  • John Peak
  • Michelle Q=Petersen
  • Rev. Pike Thomas
  • Carolyn Murphy Thompson
  • Hank Ward
  • Mike Whittenbarger

You may also like

Update Required Flash plugin