Home Leaderboard Dr. Navdeep Samra elected to Society of University Surgeons

Dr. Navdeep Samra elected to Society of University Surgeons


Navdeep Samra, MD, FICS, FACS, Tenured Associate Professor of Surgery at LSU Health Shreveport, has been elected as a member of the Society of University Surgeons (SUS). He is a Trauma, Acute Care Surgeon and a Surgical Critical Care Intensivist at Ochsner LSU Health, Shreveport.

Member application criteria for the Society of University Surgeons is extensive. Membership into the Society of University Surgeons is given to persons of well-established professional position who have demonstrated scholarly or creative ability that positively influences their field.

In addition to the requirements of being a faculty member at an academic medical center, having a successful career as a surgeon, teacher and research investigator, applicants to the Society of University Surgeons must have three letters of recommendations, at least 15 peer-reviewed publications, and meet at least two of the four criteria in categories of:  grant funding, education, institutional leadership, and national or regional leadership.


The Society of University Surgeons was established in 1938 with the mission to support and advance leaders in academic surgery, and currently has more than 1,500 members. In 2019, 66 new members were elected to join SUS. Dr. Samra is now one of three LSU Health Shreveport faculty members to be elected for SUS membership.

Dr. Samra has been a faculty member at LSU Health Shreveport since 2012. He is double board certified in General Surgery and Surgical Critical Care, and is currently the holder of the Charles D. Knight, Sr. MD Endowed Professorship in General Surgery and Program Director for the General Surgery Residency program. He served as the Head of Trauma Quality Improvement Program in November 2012, helping the hospital regain its Level 1 Trauma Center status in 2014.  He is member of Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society since 2013. Dr. Samra was promoted to be a tenured associate professor in July 2017, and has been the Chairman of the Surgery Quality Committee since January 2018. He was named the best teaching faculty award by graduating residents two years in a row (2016 and 2017) and was inducted into the Gold Humanism Honor Society in March 2019. The LSU Health Shreveport Foundation has honored him five times as a healer at An Evening for Healers in 2011, 2016, 2017, 2018, and 2019 for his role in taking care of critically injured patients. He has published more than 35 peer-reviewed publications (a combination of research articles, review articles, and textbook chapters) since joining the LSUHS faculty.

Previous articleLA Tech University is 90 percent to fundraising goal
Next articleBossier Chamber wins Communications Excellence Award for Be Bossier publication