Wednesday, June 19, 2024

Shreveport Chamber’s BDC announces 2018 Minority Business Opportunity Award honorees

by BIZ. Staff

The Business Development Connection of the Greater Shreveport Chamber of Commerce (BDC) has announced the outstanding minority and female business professionals to be honored at the annual Minority Business Opportunity Awards.

Each year, the BDC recognizes outstanding Chamber members in the following award categories: Top Business Professional of the Year, Emerging Business of the Year and Small Business Owner of the Year. This year, BDC will also recognize the Business of the Year and a Lifetime Achievement recipient.

Honorees for these awards consistently exemplify the highest standard of professional excellence, service to the community and are members in good standing with the Greater Shreveport Chamber of Commerce.

The BDC and the Greater Shreveport Chamber of Commerce are pleased to announce the honorees for the 2018 Minority Business Opportunity Awards.

Top Minority Business Professional of the Year – A minority individual who consistently exemplifies the highest standard of professional excellence, has a reputation on the job of a respected leader and is an example to his or her colleagues, has a record of accomplishments, and dedicates his or her time to providing service to the community.

  • Dr. Jerome Cox, Milestones Counseling Services, LLC
  • Tulin Melancon, Louisiana State University Shreveport
  • Eric D. Monroe, Caddo Parish Teacher’s Federal Credit Union
  • Alvin Moore, Christian Service Program
  • Gretchen Gillyard Petterway, MD FAAP, CHRISTUS Primary Care Partners
  • Sedrick Robinson, Norwela Council, Boy Scouts of America
  • Stephanie Rogers, Southern University at Shreveport
  • Dinero’ Tremaine Washington, Shreveport Transit Management, Inc. (SporTran)
  • Dr. Felice A. Williams, Louisiana State University Shreveport

Emerging Business of the Year – A new minority‐owned business (1‐3 years) that is poised for future growth and has carved a niche for itself in the business community.

  • El Cabo Verde, Gabriel Balderas
  • LA New Product Development, Onega Ulanova and Konstantin Dolgan 
  • Seedlinks Behavior Management, LLC, Ryan Williams
  • Segue Science Management, Alana L. Gray 
  • The Etiquette and Leadership Academy, Tonja L. Whitaker Prudhomme

Small Business Owner of the Year – A minority individual, who owns, operates and bears the principal responsibility for operating a small business (less than 50 employees).

  • Darius Bonton, PE, Bonton Associates
  • Rubby Endara Gregg, Endara Enterprises, LLC
  • Cynthia C. Smith, Kalmbach Smith Meadows
  • Dr. Kimberly Woods, DC & Dr. Jason Maggio, DC, All the Way Health Chiropractic Clinic

Business of the Year Recipient – An established business that employs 50 or more that creates opportunities for minority‐owned businesses and/or minority individuals and has a strong philanthropic commitment to the community.


Lifetime Achievement Recipient – An individual who, throughout their long career, has consistently exemplified the highest standard of professional excellence, has dedicated many years of his or her life to providing service to the community, has an extensive record of accomplishments, and has a reputation that is widespread.

  • Dr. Harry Blake

You may also like

Update Required Flash plugin